Wodonga Council

Page URL: https://www.wodonga.vic.gov.au/Newsroom/Archive


/ Newsroom

Nominate a worthy citizen

5 Oct, 2021

Lindsay Hanchett remembers the overwhelming feeling of honour and shock he felt after being named the 2021 Wodonga Citizen of the Year.

Mr Hanchett, who is well-known for co-ordinating the Wodonga Carols by Candlelight and his active involvement in the Wodonga Brass Band and the Murray Hume Business Enterprise Centre, remembers sitting at home in front of the computer when the phone rang.

“Cr Watson called to tell me the news. I had to sit down, I was shocked,” he said.

“It’s certainly an honour but I didn’t expect it at all.

“I volunteer and do things in the community because I like the work and enjoy helping out, it’s not about recognition.”

Nominations for the 2022 Wodonga Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year, as well as Community Organisation of the Year are now open.

Nominations close on November 17.

Mr Hanchett is encouraging people to have a think about someone who contributes to the community.

“There are a lot of people out there who do some great work in our community, and they deserve recognition,” he said.

Mr Hanchett has not missed an Australia Day service since 1999.

“It’s always a great day but also a long day as we start at 7am and have sets throughout the day and the highlight is always playing Advance Australia Fair,” he said.

Rehearsals for this year’s carols event are underway.

“It would be great if we could have a live event this year and we are certainly working towards that, but we must have a Plan B in place which would be a virtual event,” Mr Hanchett said.


Check out our past winners:


2021 Lindsay Hanchett No award given
2020 Penny Wilson Bhakta Bhattarai and Grace King
2019 Rupinder Kaur Sheldon Smith
2018 Uta Wiltshire

Sheridan Williams

2017 Teju Chouhan

Jye McBurnie and Allanah McKeown

2016 Marie Elliot Jacob Mildren
2015 Ian Elston

Liam Shay and Natasa Sojic

2014 Glenn Mackinnon

Samantha Treffers

2013 Pam Adams Josie Lindner
2012 Dianne Mant

Tim Collins and Victoria Jones

2011 Jenny Black Sophie Fuchen
2010 Geoff Smith

Ashlea Bennett and Joshua Collins

2009 Bryan Watson Jacob Hampton
2008 Sue Cardwell Dan Collins
2007 Andrew Waite Sarah Dechert
2006 Jim Parker

Grace Van Kalken

2005 Allan Bounader Patrea Quine
2004 John Byrne

Nathan Ahrens and Melissa Walker

2003 Betty Waite

Alicia Hanna and Matthew Quine

2002 Jean Whitla

Luke Broadhurst and Ebony Maygar

2001 Barbara Prenter

Melissa McDougall

2000 Betty McLean Leah Foster
1999 Eddie Kneebone

Jacqueline Hanna and Shareen Janetzki

1998 Robert Hall Kirsty Leach
1997 Jim Saleeba Natasha Dean
1996 The award dating system changed
and no award was given this year

The award dating system changed
and no award was given for this year.

1995 David Mann Marie Rauter
1994 Bill Grant No award given
1993 Walter Taylor Robert Spurr
1992 Bill Proud Mark Dowlan
1991 Dawn Richardson

Nichole Chambers

1990 Elizabeth McGrath Tammy Miller
1989 Jim Costelloe

Jonathon Van Ree

1988 Leo Mulqueeney Tania Tait
1987 Bruce Morrison Brenda Keenan
1986 Margaret Andrews David Boyle
1985 Bill Orr Dallas Hemphill
1984 No award given

Jacqueline Harris

1983 No award given Tracey Foard
1982 Bill Buckpitt Alison Evans
1981 No award given

Andrew Freeman and Diane Simpson

1980 No award given Belinda Bruning