Wodonga Council
Citizens of the Year Award

Page URL: https://www.wodonga.vic.gov.au/About-Council/Our-Community/Awards-recognition/Citizens-of-the-Year-Award

Citizens of the Year Award

 /  About CouncilOur CommunityAwards & recognitionCitizens of the Year Award


Citizen of the Year Awards are held at Australia Day celebrations around the nation.

We host an event every year and a Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year and a community organisation are recognised.

Nominations for the awards are called for in September/October each year and close December 2, 2019.

The Australia Day organising committee, led by a councillor, chooses the award winners.

Past recipients
Year Citizen of the Year Young Citizen of the Year
2019 Rupinder Kaur Sheldon Smith
2018 Uta Wiltshire
Sheridan Williams
2017 Teju Chouhan
Jye McBurnie and Allanah McKeown
2016 Marie Elliot Jacob Mildren
2015 Ian Elston
Liam Shay and Natasa Sojic
2014 Glenn Mackinnon
Samantha Treffers
2013 Pam Adams Josie Lindner
2012 Dianne Mant
Tim Collins and Victoria Jones
2011 Jenny Black Sophie Fuchen
2010 Geoff Smith
Ashlea Bennett and Joshua Collins
2009 Bryan Watson Jacob Hampton
2008 Sue Cardwell Dan Collins
2007 Andrew Waite Sarah Dechert
2006 Jim Parker
Grace Van Kalken
2005 Allan Bounader Patrea Quine
2004 John Byrne
Nathan Ahrens and Melissa Walker
2003 Betty Waite
Alicia Hanna and Matthew Quine
2002 Jean Whitla
Luke Broadhurst and Ebony Maygar
2001 Barbara Prenter
Melissa McDougall
2000 Betty McLean Leah Foster
1999 Eddie Kneebone
Jacqueline Hanna and Shareen Janetzki
1998 Robert Hall Kirsty Leach
1997 Jim Saleeba Natasha Dean
1996 The award dating system changed
and no award was given this year
The award dating system changed
and no award was given for this year.
1995 David Mann Marie Rauter
1994 Bill Grant No award given
1993 Walter Taylor Robert Spurr
1992 Bill Proud Mark Dowlan
1991 Dawn Richardson
Nichole Chambers
1990 Elizabeth McGrath Tammy Miller
1989 Jim Costelloe
Jonathon Van Ree
1988 Leo Mulqueeney Tania Tait
1987 Bruce Morrison Brenda Keenan
1986 Margaret Andrews David Boyle
1985 Bill Orr Dallas Hemphill
1984 No award given
Jacqueline Harris
1983 No award given Tracey Foard
1982 Bill Buckpitt Alison Evans
1981 No award given
Andrew Freeman and Diane Simpson
1980 No award given Belinda Bruning

Australia Day 2020: Nominate today

Do you know an unsung hero? Someone who works tirelessly for the Wodonga community and doesn't get the recognition you think they deserve?

Why not nominate them for our Australia Day awards? Nominations close on Monday, December 2, 2019.

Selection criteria

Citizen Of The Year and Young Citizen Of The Year

The winner of these prestigious awards will display a significant contribution to the Wodonga community and/or outstanding achievements considered appropriate by the council.

Regard will be given to the nominee’s achievements in the year immediately prior to the nomination, as well as their past achievements and ongoing contribution to the community of Wodonga.

The nominee must have contributed in at least one of the following ways:

  • Significant involvement in the Wodonga community;
  • Commitment to activities that have short and long-term benefits to others;
  • Leadership or participation in the Wodonga community and voluntary activities;
  • Contribution towards improving the quality of life for others; and • Outstanding personal achievements.

Community Organisation Of The Year

This is awarded to a community organisation that:

  • Has performed outstanding community service, either during the current year and/or given outstanding service over a number of years; and
  • Has been involved in work that meets a community need or priority.

Nominees for the Wodonga Council Citizen Of The Year Award must be Australian citizens and aged 16 or over on January 26, 2020.

Nominees for the Wodonga Council Young Citizen Of The Year must be Australian citizens and aged between 16 to 25 years on January 26, 2020.

A community organisation must be a not-for-profit organisation consisting of four or more members that delivers services within the Wodonga municipality.


  • Nominations will remain active for two years, for example, the year they are nominated and the following year;
  • Any supporting documentation must be photocopies of originals as nomination forms and supporting documentation will not be returned; and
  • The council’s decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into in respect of the decision.

Complete the online nomination form below.
November 20, 2019

We are encouraging community members to jump online and have their say on the 2019 proposed park names.

Consultation closes on Friday, December 20, 2019.

Submissions can be made online (using the online form below), by e-mail or phone.

Written submissions must be clearly marked as '' and will be received up until . They can also be sent by: