Wodonga Council
NSW/Victorian border closure

Page URL: https://www.wodonga.vic.gov.au/Home/COVID-19/NSW-Victorian-border-closure

NSW/Victorian border closure

 /  HomeCOVID-19NSW/Victorian border closure


NSW/Victorian border restrictions

From midnight on Tuesday, July 7 the NSW Government closed the NSW/Victorian border due to the increase of COVID-19 cases across Victoria.  This arrangement will remain in force until it becomes safe to ease the restrictions.

We are advocating and working with both governments to support this closure while doing all we can to limit the impact on our community, including people who live and work on separate sides of the border. 

The border closure and accompanying permits and exemptions are set by the NSW Government. For any queries, please phone the hotline on 13 77 88


About the border restrictions

Anyone seeking to enter NSW must apply for a NSW border entry permit. If you are travelling further than 50km, you will need to self-isolate for 14 days.

Apply for your permit online

Anyone seeking to enter NSW must apply for, receive and carry a NSW border entry permit.  This permit applies to all borders, land, air and sea, as well as river crossings. 

Boating on the Murray River

NSW waters are considered to commence from the high tide mark on the Victorian side of the Murray River. People using the river must have a permit.